About DARG :: DARG Events :: Financial Support :: DARG Publications :: Ethical Guidelines :: Members' Directory :: Sources of Funding :: Useful Links
 

 

About DARG

The Developing Areas Research Group (DARG) is one of the research/ study groups in the Royal Geographical Society (with the Institute of British Geographers). The DARG membership is largely made up of academics, postgraduates and practitioners interested in 'developing areas'. This term has tended to cover Africa, Asia, Latin America and the Caribbean, but in recent years has been extended to cover the transitional societies of Eastern Europe and the ex-USSR. We also welcome and encourage research work within and on the "West" in relation to 'development' issues.

DARG is one of the largest and most active research groups in the RGS-IBG. We have an annual programme of conferences and workshops. This includes organising sessions at the RGS-IBG Annual Conference.

DARG also has an ongoing publication programme. The Group publishes a series of DARG Monographs. In addition, there is series of DARG regional textbooks published by Pearson Education.

DARG members receive a regular email bulletin and can contribute items to it. Any material for the email bulletin should be sent to Sarah.Jewitt@nottingham.ac.uk

***

Financial Support

DARG is committed to providing support to students.
We run an Annual Undergraduate Dissertation Prize.

For postgraduates there is a Postgraduate Travel Prize and Postgraduate Conference Funding Support

***

How to Join DARG

There are two ways of joining DARG:

1. Through the RGS-IBG. Once you have completed the membership form, the Membership Office at the RGS-IBG will ask you which research groups you would like to join. If you select to join DARG, then the RGS-IBG will then forward membership information to DARG.

2. By joining DARG directly. You have the choice of membership options:

Annual Membership:
Ordinary Membership: £5.00
Student/ Unwaged Membership: £2.00

5 Year Membership: £20

Life Membership: £50

To join, please complete the membership form and send it, with cheque or payment information to the DARG Treasurer, Dorothea Kleine, Department of Geography, Royal Holloway, University of London, Egham, TW20 0EX, email: dorothea.kleine@rhul.ac.uk

New Membership Form – DARGmembershipform.pdf

Renewal Membership Form - Renewal Form

***

Current DARG Committee

Chair: Glyn Williams, Department of Town and Regional Planning, University of Sheffield, Winter Street, Sheffield S10 2TN. Tel: 0114 222 6912. Email: glyn.williams@sheffield.ac.uk (2010-2013)

Secretary and Membership Coordinator: Colin Marx, Development Planning Unit, University College London, 34 Tavistock Square, London WC1H 9EZ, Email: c.marx@ucl.ac.uk (2009-2012)

Treasurer: Dorothea Kleine, Department of Geography, Royal Holloway, University of London, Egham, Surrey TW20 0EX, Email: dorothea.Kleine@rhul.ac.uk (2010-2013)

E-Newsletter Co-Ordinator: Sarah Jewitt, School of Geography, University of Nottingham, University Park, Nottingham, NG7 2RD. Tel 01159 515450. Email: sarah.jewitt@nottingham.ac.uk (2009-2012)

 

Undergraduate Prize Co-Ordinator:
Sara Parker, Department of Geography, School of Social Science, Liverpool John Moores University, Clarence Street Building, Liverpool L3 5UG. Email: S.L.Parker@livjm.ac.uk (2005-2008, 2008-2011)

David W. Smith Prize Co-Ordinator:
Gill Miller, Department of Geography & Development Studies, University of Chester, Parkgate Road, Chester CH1 4BJ, Email: g.miller@chester.ac.uk (2007-2010)

Website Co-ordinator: Dorothea Kleine (Royal Holloway, University of London) Email: dorothea.Kleine@rhul.ac.uk (2007-2010)

Postgraduate Representatives:

Margi Bryant (University of Sheffield) Email: M.Bryant@sheffield.ac.uk (2010-2013)

Stephen Jones (Royal Holloway, University of London) Email: s.d.jones@rhul.ac.uk (2009-2012)

Committee Members:

Tanja Bastia, School or Environment and Development, University of Manchester, Arther Lewis Building, Manchester, M13 9PL Email: tanja.bastia@manchester.ac.uk (2010-2013)

Uma Kothari, School or Environment and Development, University of Manchester, Arther Lewis Building, Manchester, M13 9PL Email: una.kothari@manchester.ac.uk (2011-2014)

Nina Laurie,School of Geography, Politics and Sociology, University of Newcastle, Daysh Building, University of Newcastle, Newcastle upon Tyne, NE1 7RU; nina.laurie@ncl.ac.uk (2011-2014)

Charlotte Lemanski, Department of Geography, University College London, 26 Bedford Way, London WC1H 0AP. Email: c.lemanski@geog.ucl.ac.uk (2011-2014)

Ben Page, Department of Geography, University College London, 26 Bedford Way, London WC1H 0AP. Email: b.page@geog.ucl.ac.uk (2006-2009) (2010-2013)

Marina Prieto-Carron, Department of Geography, University of Portsmouth, Buckingham Building, Lion Terrace, Portsmouth, Hants, PO1 3HE. Email: Marina.Prieto-Carron@port.ac.uk (2010-2013)

 

 


 


 

 
last updated: April 24, 2012
site maintained by: Dr Dorothea Kleine, Department of Geography,
Royal Holloway, University of London, Egham, Surrey TW20 0EX
Email: dorothea.kleine@rhul.ac.uk